Lack of Use
Project allocations are subject to reductions due to lack-of-use.
At the start of a project, the full compute allocation will be available. Unused portions of an allocation will be expired in blocks: this usually happens on a quarterly basis for larger allocations (over 500k node hours), and semi-annually for smaller allocations. The remaining allocation balance will not be less than what would be available if the allocation was used linearly.
Users who no longer have active project accounts will be notified that their accounts will be closed, and given 30 days to save their files from Cascade directories. After an additional 30 days, their accounts will be closed, and the users’ home directory deleted unless they become participants on an active project account.